yarn purchases for year two

Viewing 19 reply threads
  • Author
      judy
      Participant

Thanks, Jane, for the information on what yarns we will need to purchase this year.  However, when I total all those lovely cones of colour, I see that we will need 41.  This seems to be a lot.  You talk about stashbusters– so I’m wondering if all of these need to be full cones.  Like most of us I’m sure, I have lots of partial cones and would love to be able to use some of those.

I am new to the guild and love what I’ve seen so far– it’s just what I need to regenerate after 20 years of weaving.

saddleblankets
        Participant

Jane, when you mentioned using other yarns you didn’t mention Tencel. Is this a yarn we can also use?

Ginette
          Keymaster

Hi Judy, you could make shorter warps.  Jane suggest 8 yard warps with the kits so you can weave the base sample and weave extra samples with other fibres, colours from your stash and such, but a shorter warp would work as well.  You could weigh your partial cones to determine approximately how much yardage you have left of each.

Ginette

Sandra
            Keymaster