Will doubling up threads cause any problems?

Weaving Supplies, Yarn & Looms Canada Forums Weaving Discussion Will doubling up threads cause any problems?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Lindsay Robb 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Lindsay Robb
    Participant

Thank you Ginette!

I think that’s the reassurance I wanted. I just wasn’t sure if they would struggle to lie flat and look weird in the weave or if they would act/look like a twisted larger thread.

Thank you for the link to the thicker thread.  I try to buy more local when I can and I’ll be buying from a vendor at a fair next weekend.  I’m sure I could wait and she would post me something thicker but I can’t afford postage costs right now when I’m just a beginner and trying to keep my ‘experiments’ low-cost 🙂

Cheers!!

Ginette
    Keymaster

Hi Lindsay,

You can double up threads to mimic a thickness. I have not tried doubling up linen though but have on cottons.  If you’re looking for a thicker linen, we do have 16/2 linen line, organic from Venne which may work for you for your project. Setts are:

Sett:
    Plain Weave: 15 epi & 15 ppi
    Twill: 18 epi & 15 ppi
    Both setts give you a nice drapey fabric.

Here’s the link: https://janestaffordtextiles.com/product-category/yarns/linen/16-2-linen/

Lindsay Robb
    Participant

Thank you for the reply!

No it didn’t answer my question – I’ve already doubled up when sleying the friendship towels so I understand that. But thank you anyway!

I’d asked the vendor for thicker linen and she didn’t have any. So this would be completely doubled in the heddles and reed to try to match a thread twice the thickness and I’m wondering if the effect will look the same as using thicker thread or if it will have issues because the two strands aren’t twisted together.

Sorry, I don’t think I explained well the first time ☺

rooneymt
    Participant