Season 2 Asymmetry Questions

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      rooneymt
      Participant

Good day….This is my first attempt to upload a file. It turned out bigger than I hoped it. Hopefully it will help clarify my question.

For example 1, Jane uses a non-fibonacci number for the amount of threads, which are 10. However repeating them 3 times is a fibonacci number which makes it a set of 1.

My confusion comes with defining what a “set” is. In example 2, I have 4 repeats which is not a fibonacci number. However each group is a fibonacci number of 3, 5, 8 and 13.

So for example 2, would I consider the repeats for each group to be one which is a fibonacci number or is it a group of 4 and not a fibonacci number?

Guess I’m just trying to see if using a group that is a fibonacci number, can I repeat them as many times as I want if they  don’t repeat? Such as randomly inserting groups of fibonacci numbers? And if you use a non-fibonacci group, then the repeats have to be a fibonacci number?

Thanks so much!

Jane_Stafford

Ginette
        Keymaster

Hi Michael, your sample #2 is definitely Fibonacci and you could keep on going with the numbers, I’ve done that or divided each towel using these first numbers. Let’s say I’ll weave the towel 34 ish” long, which is the length I usually like, I’ll weave the colours in inches (1″, 1″, 2″, 3″, 5″, 8″, 13″) gives me 33″. Or I choose a set of the numbers within the sequence for some facecloths or napkins (3″, 5″, 8″).

Fibonacci has so many possibilities when designing. Back to the Asymmetry Sample from the lesson, basically how Jane did it was use the stripping as an incremental unit of 10 threads. 10 is not a Fibonnaci number but it works as the striping, 3 blacks, 1 red, 2 dark greys, 3 light greys and such. So your sample #1, each stripe has 10 threads to represent 1, and having 3 stripes gives you your Fibonacci number.

rooneymt
          Participant