Jane teaching in Ethiopia at Sabahar

Weaving Supplies, Yarn & Looms Canada Forums Weaving Discussion Jane teaching in Ethiopia at Sabahar

This topic contains 7 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Ed Chapman 3 weeks, 3 days ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Ed Chapman
    Participant

Love the moth and caterpillar pictures- I am an AP Bio teacher by trade. I did no know Africa had a silk moth, and that it eats castor leaves! Very cool. It makes me happy to now there is such biodiversity amongst moths that CAN make commercially useful silk.

Sue
    Participant

What a wonderful experience for you all. Look forward to seeing the eri silk shawl. The silk looks beautiful as a weft on the loom.  Thanks so much for sharing your  visit with us Jane

Ginette
    Keymaster

A few more pictures from Jane! 🙂

Sabahar has a new R&D department!

For the past 2 weeks I have been working with Antone, Ermais and Ayelle setting up the Research and Development Department at Sabahar.

We made several warps all in search of multiple textures from one warp. This 40/2 cotton warp was very successful. Over 10 samples we tested, different combinations of materials, cotton, silk, wool and experimented with different beating techniques.

The warp yarns available to weavers at Sabahar are limited and all of them are very fine. One of their customers asked them for a heavier fabric for cotton blankets so we made a warp using 8 strands of 40/2 cotton as one warp and we learned about twills. This was very successful and the fabric is lovely.

We explored different treadlings.

We cut off and re-sleyed, introducing denting to the warp and wove in plain weave.

And we played with clasped weft.